January 16, 2024

Superintendent's Article

     January is School Board Recognition Month. Marcellus Community Schools is fortunate to have seven hard working and dedicated school board members.  Our local school board does some of the most important work of our community—that of educating our youth.

     The school board establishes a vision for the education program, provides a structure to achieve that vision, and strongly advocates for continuous improvement in student learning. These citizen volunteers work many hours and make personal sacrifices all in an effort to lead our district. The members of our Marcellus Community School Board of Education are committed to keeping our school district strong and to providing the best education for youth. 

     School Board Appreciation Month is a great time to intentionally reach out to our local school board members and thank them for their tireless service.

Marcellus Board of Education members include:

  • President Joe Tone
  • Vice President Ed Asmus
  • Secretary Nicki Hackenberg
  • Treasurer Laura Schug
  • Trustee Sarah Engstrom
  • Trustee Vicki Essex
  • Trustee Justin Ware

      In January, please join me and others from throughout our district and state to salute the men and women who provide grassroots governance of public schools.  Marcellus School Board members are appreciated!

Upcoming dates to Note:

January - Records- ½ day for students

January 17-19 -Exams
January 19- End of first semester- ½ day for students

January 24- FFA Convention